Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Are Open Educational Resources?
OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
(OER) are any resources available at little or no cost that can be used for teaching, learning, or research.
The term can include textbooks, course readings, and other learning content; simulations, games, and other learning applications; syllabi, quizzes, and assessment tools; and virtually any other material that can be used for educational purposes.
|OER typically refers to electronic resources, including those in multimedia formats, and such materials are generally released under a Creative Commons or similar license that supports open or nearly open use of the content.
||OER can originate from colleges and universities, libraries, archival organizations, government agencies, commercial organizations such as publishers, or faculty or other individuals who develop educational resources they are willing to share."
OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent.
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
Springer Open Journals
SpringerOpen journal portfolio includes peer-reviewed, fully open access journals across all areas of science. It ranges from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, our interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.
ALABAMA OER COMMONS
ALABAMA OER COMMONS
The Alabama OER Commons is a place for Alabama educators, students, and the general public to find and share free educational resources.
What are the Benefits of Open Education Resources?
WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES?
1. SAVES COSTS FOR STUDENTS
2. HELPS PREPARATION FOR COURSE AND RETENTION OF KNOWLEDGE AFTER THE COURSE.
3. SHARES BEST PRACTICES INTERNATIONALLY
4. SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY-IT PROVIDES EDUCATION TO ALL
5. RAISES THE STANDARDS OF EDUCATION BY GATHERING MORE CONTRIBUTORS
6. MORE ACCESS TO MORE QUALITY CHOICES
What are Open Textbooks?
Open textbooks are much like regular textbooks except that they were created to be free. They were created to give the instructors using the open textbook the freedom to adapt the book to their class, their students and their pedagogy. Open textbooks are usually licensed under Creative Commons licenses and this mean that the user has the freedom to revise, remix, redistribute, retain, and reuse them. Most importantly, there is no cost for students to use open textbooks
The American Institute of Mathematics
A list below groups open textbooks by course title. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.
Bookboon's free online textbooks for students are focused and to the point. They are all written by highly respected professors from top universities in the world and cover topics such as economics, statistics, IT, engineering and natural science. Download free eBooks and textbooks
Free Tech Books
Database of Free / Open Access Online Computer Science Books, Textbooks, and Lecture Notes
(1208 books and growing)
MIT Open Courseware
Massachusetts Institute of Technology-Some of these online textbooks are open-licensed electronic versions of print books. Others are self-published online books, or course notes which are so thorough that they serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
And backed by additional learning resources.
Project Gutenberg offers over 56,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.
Open education resources (OER) that supplant conventional paperbased textbooks. LibreTexts currently encompass twelve widely used college-level
disciplines from chemistry to humanities.
BCC Campus Open Ed
British Columbia open textbook collection
Boundless_Lumen Learning Courses
This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless. In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Except where otherwise noted, all material in Boundless courses are licensed under a CC BY-SA license.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
MULTIMEDIA OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
A place to find and share open educational resources. OER Commons was created to provide support for and to build a knowledge base around the use and reuse of open educational resources.
Fee, world-class education to anyone, anywhere.
TED is a nonpartisan nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks.
Free Online Courses from Coursera, edX, FUN, FutureLearn, Miríada X, OpenClassrooms and other Top Providers and Universities in a wide range of categories and subjects.
Explore over 8,600 free videos in 13 subject areas
Open Yale Courses
Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University. The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn.
Merlot is a curated collection of more than 40,000 free and online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community
A collection of open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
SEARCH TOOLS FOR FINDING OER RESOURCES