LibGuides CMS: BUS 241/242: Principles of Accounting I/II: Library Resources

LIBRARY HOURS

Fall / Spring

Monday-Thursday: 8am - 8:00pm
Friday: 8am - 4pm

Saturday (By Appointment)

Summer

Monday-Thursday: 8am - 8:30pm
Friday: Closed
Saturday: Closed

Note: Hours may vary during breaks and intercession.

Library Links

College Links

Websites

Accounting Profession
From the Occupational Outlook Handbook published by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Financial Times
Small Business Administration
US Department of Commerce
The Wall Street Journal

Locate Resources

Find books, DVDs, and more:

You can find many up-to-date electronic books (ebooks) on a variety of topics by clicking the link below.

Electronic Books (Ebooks)

Databases for Accounting

As a student at Lawson State, you are provided access to the online databases while currently enrolled during the semester. If you are not currently enrolled you will not be eligible for remote access based upon our licensing agreements of the database vendors.

All registered students need to use their (A-Student ID Number) username and (6-Digit Date of Birth) password to access the databases. Your student ID number is assigned to you at the start of your first semester.

Business (AVL) This link opens in a new window
GaleOneFile: Business provides full-text articles on management issues, economic indicators, and business theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies and industries worldwide.
Business Source Premier (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Vocational & Career Collection (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Supports vocational and technical courses of study with information from industry and trade-related journals, reviews and newspapers. The database indexes over 510 titles with full text of articles from over 160 titles and nearly 5,000 Magill’s Book Reviews.

General Databases

Academic OneFile (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. It also, includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Academic Search Premier (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and images from biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology.
Ethnic NewsWatch (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish and Native Peoples.
Academic OneFile Select (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Newspaper Source (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Michael Porter

Email Me

Contact:

Lawson State Community College
Learning Resource Center
3060 Wilson Road, SW
Birmingham, AL 35221

(205) 929-3491

Subjects: Computer Science, Tutorials

Quick References

Credo Reference (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
Use Credo Reference to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies, Quotations, Lingual Dictionaries, Crossword Solver, and Measurement Conversions. Provides online access to over 300 reference books.
Britannica Academic (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic has been thoroughly updated with new content and a more user-friendly interface that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Oxford Online (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.