LibGuides CMS: Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Medical Tools

Medical Terminology

MedLinePlus - Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
MedLinePlus - Understanding Medical Words Tutorial
This tutorial teaches you about medical words. You'll learn how parts of medical words are put together. You'll also find quizzes to check what you've learned.

Diseases and Conditions

CDC Diseases & Conditions
The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is tracks a wide range of diseases, and provides up-to-date information on them. This can be a good place to look for statistics.
Mayo Clinic Diseases and Conditions
This site has brief patient-focused descriptions of diseases, along with possible treatment options.
MedLinePlus
This site from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides up-to-date authoritative information on a wide range of health issues and links to national advocacy and health groups related to specific diseases and conditions. Good for patient education information, but also useful for healthcare professionals.

Drug Information Resources

Drug Information Portal
This database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, contains information on over 80,000 drugs.
Mayo Clinic Drugs and Supplements
Information about prescription and over-the-counter drugs, as well as herbs, supplements and vitamins.
RxList Pill Identifier
This database allows you to identify pills using the imprint, color or shape.
Drugs@FDA: FDA Approved Drugs
Drugs@FDA includes information about FDA approved drugs and biological products.
Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD)
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes full label derived information from dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
The database can be searched by ingredients, product name, and manufacturer.
MedlinePlus - Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Consumers can learn about their prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
LactMed
"The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate."
RxClass
The RxClass database allows users to search using the RxNorm drug name to identify the drug classification or search the classification to determine the RxNorm drug name.

Anatomy and Graphics

Zygote Body
An anatomy tool that allows you to manipulate a virtual human body. You can highlight various body systems and rotate the images into different views. Structures are named and you can pin them to help in studying. This tool works best with the Chrome browser. A free sign-up is required.

Human Body Maps
An interactive anatomy tool, but with the ability to rotate images in 3D. Clicking structures retrieves relevant text.
InnerBody
An interactive anatomy system that allows you to study particular body systems
Wellcome Collection
Contains over 100,000 images related to the history of medicine available to download free under a Creative Commons license.
eSkeletons
eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy from the University of Texas Anthropology Department.

Historical Medical Resources

There are many historical medical resources available online. However, do not use these if you are seeking information on current research or clinical practice -- use these for historical purposes only.

The Medical Heritage Library
Over 30,000 searchable digital books and other items related to medicine. A great place to look for old illustrations.
U.S. National Library of Medicine - History of Medicine
The National Library of medicine provides access to many of their resources on the history of medicine, including books, films, photographs, and more.

Health Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics
This division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention gathers statistics on all manner of health topics, from aging and birth rates to diseases and physical activity. The place to start looking for health statistics
County Health Rankings
A joint effort of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, this site ranks counties on various health factors within their states.
Health Data Tools and Statistics
A collection of health statistics from the Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.
2012 Statistical Abstract: Health & Nutrition
Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau that cover "health expenditures and insurance coverage, including Medicare and Medicaid, medical personnel, hospitals, nursing homes and other care facilities, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption."