LibGuides CMS: Physics: Library Resources

Library Hours

Spring 2024

Birmingham Campus

Monday thru Thursday: 8am-8pm

Friday: 8am-8pm

Saturday: 8am-12pm (Birmingham Campus only)

Bessemer Campus

Monday thru Thursday: 8am-8pm

Friday: 8am-4pm

Saturday: Closed

______________

Note: Hours may vary during breaks and intercession.

Useful Websites

Do you know of another website that we should add? If so, please contact the library. (Contact information is located on the right side of this guide.)

Locate Resources

Find books, DVDs, and more:

You can find many up-to-date electronic books (ebooks) on a variety of topics by clicking the link below.

Electronic Books (Ebooks)

Databases for Physics

To access our databases remotely (off-campus), you will need to verify you are currently enrolled as a student at Lawson State. When accessing databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to sign-in to your Lawson State e-mail. Once you have signed-in to your e-mail, you will be able to access any of our databases until you have signed-out of your e-mail or you have clear your cache files on your computer.

If you are not able to access our databases during business hours, please e-mail us at askalibrarian@lawsonstate.edu.

Academic OneFile Select (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
General Science Collection (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

General Databases

Academic OneFile (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. It also, includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Academic Search Premier (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and images from biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology.
MasterFILE Premier (AVL) This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier also contains full-text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Sabrina Dyck

Email Me

Contact:

College Links

Quick References

Credo Reference (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
Use Credo Reference to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies, Quotations, Lingual Dictionaries, Crossword Solver, and Measurement Conversions. Provides online access to over 300 reference books.
Britannica Academic (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic has been thoroughly updated with new content and a more user-friendly interface that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Oxford Online (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.