LibGuides CMS: ENG 101: English Composition I: Library Resources

Academic Writing

MLA Template
Use this template to help you create and check your citations. (This is a Word document.)

Grammar and Mechanics

Guide to Grammar and Writing
Khan Academy (videos)
WatchKnowLearn
PBS Learning Media
Homework Help (Brainly)
EasyBib
Citation generator to assist you with creating MLA citations for your course assignment.

Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Locate Resources

Find books, DVDs, and more:

You can find many up-to-date electronic books (ebooks) on a variety of topics by clicking the link below.

Electronic Books (Ebooks)

Databases for Basic Information and Research

To access our databases remotely (off-campus), you will need to verify you are currently enrolled as a student at Lawson State. When accessing databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to sign-in to your Lawson State e-mail. Once you have signed-in to your e-mail, you will be able to access any of our databases until you have signed-out of your e-mail or you have clear your cache files on your computer.

If you are not able to access our databases during business hours, please e-mail us at askalibrarian@lawsonstate.edu.

Academic OneFile (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. It also, includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Academic Search Premier (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and images from biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology.
Britannica Academic (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic has been thoroughly updated with new content and a more user-friendly interface that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
Use Credo Reference to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies, Quotations, Lingual Dictionaries, Crossword Solver, and Measurement Conversions. Provides online access to over 300 reference books.
Newspaper Source (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Opposing Viewpoints (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Best Bet Databases for Argumentative/Persuasive Essays

Academic OneFile (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. It also, includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Academic Search Premier (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and images from biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology.
Opposing Viewpoints (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Points of View Reference Center (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Points of View is designed to users with access to full scope of controversial subjects. Users can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills.

Databases for Literature

Bloom's Literature (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of critical essays, author biographies and character analyses, the full content of hundreds of reference books, more than 900 classic works of literature, thousands of questions for discussion and writing, thousands of full-length poems, essays providing guidance on writing papers, full-length videos of classic stage performances and film adaptations of literary works, and a Shakespeare Center housing in one convenient location the database’s treasure trove of content on all things Shakespeare.
Contemporary Authors (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors’ comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
Gale Literature (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Users will be able to cross-search Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism, Twayne’s Authors, and Scribner Writers.

Best Bet Databases for Informative Essay

Britannica Academic (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic has been thoroughly updated with new content and a more user-friendly interface that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles from subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Includes more than 340 academic, subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books.
Points of View Reference Center (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Points of View is designed to users with access to full scope of controversial subjects. Users can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills.
Academic Search Premier (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and images from biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology.
Opposing Viewpoints (AVL) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Academic OneFile Select (Lawson) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Evaluating Websites

5 W's of Website Evaluation

CRAAP Text for Website Evaluation