MLA Handbook by Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the most transparent approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it.
A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one genuinely authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers.
Copies are available in our Course Reserves Collection at the Birmingham and Bessemer Campuses. You may check out a copy for in-house (or in the library) use for up to 2 hours per check-out. The Course Reserve Collection is located behind the Reference Desk. Just ask a member of our library staff for assistance with checking out a copy. To check out a copy of the MLA Handbook, you will need to bring one of these items with you: